Timberframe Tiny Home

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Brice Cochran Brice Cochran 2 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Troy Egan
    Troy Egan
    Participant

Hey everyone,
    I’m pretty new to timber framing, I’ve done a lot of looking around on the internet. I’ve watched alot of thetradesmanchannel videos on YouTube. I’ve done some milling on a Norwood sawmill and done a handful of small timberframe projects. My next project is the biggest by far. I’m planning to build a 14×20 timberframe Tiny home. The structure will be a lean to much like the 14×30 timber frame shed barn on this site. The only differences would be the length and having a larger loft area, so probably having longer posts along the back and a lower sloped roof. I have ordered 20′ long 16″diameter eastern white pine logs and plan to start milling soon. So I want to keep this project as simple as possible, could I mill 8x8s for all the posts and beams? I will have to have some kind of scarf joint for my tie beams because I’d like 2′ overhang. What’s the simplest scarf joint I could use? And should I put it over the middle bent? That should at least get the ball rolling, I know you will have alot of questions and I’ll try to answer them the best I can. Thanks in advance for any feedback you can give.

Brice Cochran
    Brice Cochran
    Keymaster

Great questions.  I would have to defer to an engineer for the specific numbers but I would not go with 8×8 for beams.  8×8’s are good for the posts but you will need to step up to an 8×10 for the plans and bent girts.  Where do you live?  It will give us some indication of beam size.

Take a look at the different scarf joints at https://timberframehq.com/tag/scarf-joint/ you will be able to get an idea of which ones are easier to cut, these joints tend to be a focal point in a frame, so keep that in mind when you are deciding on one.